How to Delete Your Facebook Account & Some Reasons Why You Should

05/23/2019     Author: Billy Gray

Had enough of social media? Millions of young Europeans and Americans are deleting their Facebook profiles nowadays. Here’s how you can delete yours, too.

 

Millions of young Europeans and Americans are deleting their Facebook profiles. The largest growth of new profiles is actually coming from the older generations, while the amount of new young users – while still on the increase – is slowing down. This begs the question: why are so many young people leaving Facebook?

There are many answers to this question. First of all, the negative effects of social media, while balanced by the positive ones, have been in the spotlight for some time now. Social media use is up through the roof and a lot of people find themselves spending far too much of their day getting distracted by vibrations and beeps.

What’s the problem with Facebook?

Remember back in the day, when Facebook notifications meant that someone had posted on your wall, or that you’d been invited to a party by someone who you actually knew? Nowadays, notifications are usually either people posting in groups, invitations to promotional events that you don’t want to attend, or Facebook trying to get you to view your ex’s story. Gone are the days of relevant content.

If we dig deeper, then we get the Cambridge Analytica scandal, as well as the CEOs of Facebook being accused of operating like an ‘online mafia.’ The ad industry has taken over social media and the mission of the sites are now, more than ever before, to collect as much personal data on you as possible and sell it to advertisers.

Users are increasingly rebelling against this. It is estimated that 600 million people now run ad blocking software on their devices. And Facebook and Google are the king online advertising. If you’re sick of your personal data being used to target you with ads, then deleting Facebook may well be the way forward.

Apps like Whatsapp (although owned by Facebook), allow you to message everyone you need to, without having to see any ads or have annoying notifications binging in your pocket all day long. With effective replacements for Facebook just a click away, it’s no wonder that people are turning away from the big blue F.

How to temporarily deactivate your Facebook

Deleting your Facebook is a one-way ticket. Once it’s gone, it’s gone for good. On the other hand, deactivating your account gives you a chance to see what life is like without social media, while still keeping the option open to start using it again and not losing all your data.

You might want to consider deactivating your Facebook before taking the plunge and deleting your account in its entirety.

Deactivating your Facebook will remove your account from the site, so no one will be able to view or interact with your profile. You won’t receive any notifications from the site, either. You can reactivate your account at any time by returning to Facebook and signing back in. This is a great way to test the waters of deletion, although it’s very tempting to just sign back in after a few days.

To deactivate your Facebook account, simply:

  • Click the drop down menu at the top of your Facebook page.
  • Choose ‘Settings’
  • Choose ‘General’
  • Press ‘Manage your account’
  • Select ‘Deactivate your account’
  • Confirm your selection.
  • Viola!

How to permanently delete your Facebook account

Assuming you’ve already made up your mind and you want to know how to permanently delete your Facebook account, simply follow these steps.

Before deleting Facebook, you should know this:

  • All your data on Facebook will be deleted.
  • You won’t be able to use Messenger anymore.
  • You won’t be able to sign in to any accounts you’ve linked to Facebook anymore.
  • You cannot restore your account.
  • People can still read previous messages you sent them.
  • You’ll probably be more productive from now on…

To delete your Facebook account forever, simply:

  1. Go to the drop down menu at the top of your Facebook page.
  2. Choose ‘Settings’
  3. Choose ‘Your Facebook information’
  4. Go to ‘Delete your account and information’
  5. Choose ‘Delete my account’
  6. Enter your password when prompted.
  7. Click ‘Continue’ and then ‘Delete my account’
  8. Done.

Remember, there’s no going back once it’s gone. Now that your Facebook is gone, you should probably take a new hobby to mark the occasion. There are plenty of free online courses you can do on websites like Coursera, LinkedIn Learning, and Udemy. Try one of those – it’s a great way to spend some time being productive online and can give you skills that you can take over to your professional life.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *